The voice that soothes our souls:


The voice that soothes our souls:

image

Nico Kwagmire: The solo singer from Dallas, Texas, USA.

To listen and watch Nico Kwagmire’s music videos on YouTube, please click on this link:

http://www.YouTube.com/nicokwagmire

Interview conducted by Sajjad Khan Bangash.

Music is a powerful thing. It evokes feelings and has the power to bring people together. Music is also a way for people to express themselves and share ideas, whether through poetic lyrics or throbbing anthems. But today, artists are not known for their music, but for how extravagant their outfits are and how many times their wealthy relatives can get them out of jail. And thus music is lost.

Pop and rap music has evolved into a shallow, image-obsessed industry that conforms to what the public wants to hear and see, eliminating the focus on the actual music.

Mainstream music is no longer composed of emotion, but instead themes of money, sex, and fame. Pop and rap performers are notorious for their run-ins with police, their latest diet, or their most recent affair. Photos and rumors fly while the music is ignored.
Not all musical groups or soloists begin like this.

image

Let’s meet the talented Nico Kwagmire from Dallas, Texas, USA whose  soul soothing voice has inspired me a lot and I was lucky enough that she has gifted a precious time of her to have a good conversation with her. I began our conversation with her as:

1. Please give a brief introduction of yourself Nico?
I was born into a musical family I guess you could say. My mother and birth father were both musicians. My mother played the base and my father played guitar and they both were singers. So I’ve had a great love for music since I was in the womb!

I’m a 35 year old single  mom from Dallas, Texas. I’ve been playing the ukulele non-professionally for 5 years. I got it for my 30th birthday. I’ve always loved singing and music.

2. What music genre you love a lot and sing on?
Even after my parents divorced they were still in bands with separately from each other (as my mother and I had moved to a different state and my mother remarried my step-dad whom I call Dad). I remember taking voice lessons growing up, along with piano and the trumpet when I was in  middle/junior high.

image

What motivates you to sing?
Emotions is what usually drives me to sing. Whether I’m happy or sad, but I think it’s songs about heartache and love that I like to sing the most because it’s what I know the most about.

My mother sold all of her music equipment in a garage sale when I was around 9 or so and did not sing professionally for almost 20 years. My father still sang my whole life growing up and I remember going to see him play several times during every visit. Guitar and singing was always his big passion through out his entire life and you could tell when he sang and played his guitar. My father battled depression and alcoholism his entire life and when I was about 20 or so, he slit his wrists and ruined a nerve in his pinky rendering him unable to play guitar again. I think that was more devastating to him than anything and only made his depression worse at times turning him from beer to hard liquor.

4. Who’s your favorite singer/s?
I love all types of music, so I cannot say that any one type has inspired me.
My father was always into old country (Merle Haggard, Johny Cash, Bob Dylan, Don Williams, Tammy Wynette, Patsy Cline, etc) My dad was hugely obsessed with oldies and Doo-wop (The Coasters, Jimmy Clanton, Big Bopper, I could go on and on).

My grandparents were into the music of the 40s-50s (Frank Sinatra, Rat Pack, Benny Goodman, Bing Crosby, Andrew Sisters,etc) My friends growing up had punk bands and rockabilly style bands. NOFX is definitely my favorite punk band. There are of course many great others, but NOFX has my heart. =)

5. What’s the difference between music of today and past?
Today I listen to a lot of Indie, folk, adult contemporary and because I have children I end up listening to Top 40. The ‘punk and metal’ I listened to as a teenager usually tends to work the nerves now.
I think one big difference between music of the past and music today is (that) they want to throw a techno beat into everything. LOL drives me crazy. Let a song be a song without making it into a clubbed up dance beat.

6. Where would you most like to perform?
I’m not really sure where I would most like to perform. I’m still working on having my first open mic! I never played my ukulele in front of a group of people before, only videos that I post on my facebook and youtube. I am working on preparing for my first open mic though. I think I like singing more than playing my ukulele AND singing. My little wooden toy just gives me something to sing along to. I would like to join a band though at some point. If the content was original that would be fine, but I think a cover band would be awesome and really fun.

8. Who would you most like to open for?
I don’t really think I have any particular person that I would like to open for. I don’t think I’ve ever looked at music like something I’d do in hopes of getting famous. It’s just something that I really enjoy and if it happened, cool….if not, cool I still have it for myself.

10. If you weren’t singing, what would you be doing?
If I weren’t singing, I’d be doing the same thing I’m doing. Apartment locating with my real estate license. It would be pretty cool though if I could make enough money to support a a substantial portion of my life.

11. Do you play any instruments?
I used to play piano and trumpet. I do not really remember how though. It’s been about 20+ years since I’ve picked up either instrument. I think about doing it often though and seeing if I can remember anything.

If you could dabble in another genre of music, what would it be?
If I could play around in another genre of music I think it would be swing and big band. It always seemed like so much fun.

What else can we expect from you in the future?
I have no idea what the future holds. Hopefully a band of some sort!

Leave a Reply

