Whispers in Silence Chapter (02): The Caged Bird


Chapter 02: A Caged Bird:

Anne

Anne told me that “I was born in Doncaster, therefore technically making me English, but Scottish mother and no known father as of yet but my mother told me he is one of the Kennedys who are a very rich and powerful family. He didn’t want to ever meet me while my mother is not rich and was also much older than him. I don’t particularly like her either, she is more like a robot. But she was very beautiful. She was in the military for 2 years then moved to Brooklyn, New York,USA”.

Now, this stirred my mind as to what causes her to be robot. Is it because she’s works a lot?

Anne replied with immediate short answer “She is emotionless.”
On my question that how was her childhood life?

” She was a good mother, but just the basics, I was well fed, well washed mostly, but I lived with my grandmother a lot, my grandmother was the epitome of what a mother should be. She was my mother basically, she tried to adopt me at one point. My mother was a Jevovahs Witness and used to leave me outside in the rain outside bars to get drunk when I was little. So I stayed with my grandparents a lot, plus I was firstborn and I am named after my both grandparents. Anne Danniela. My grandmother was Annie and my grandpa was Danny.”

Again the suspense surmounted my head with a quizz as to “What’s Jevovahs Witness?”
Anne explained with clear a definition as:
” A religious cult that doesn’t believe in blood transfusions, which is the most famous thing about them.” Now, Anne further improved my understanding with a real life story as “When I was there till I was 16 yrs old one lady was in a car accident and died and her twin unborn children died because she was a JW. The family refused blood for her and watched her die and and her two unborn children while knowing they could save her life. This was the final straw for me and I knew I wanted to leave and never look back”

It was a matter of surprise and grief to know this fact and I replied with a stabbed voice, “Aww that’s sad. I never heard of this thing before in life that there are people in this world who refuse the transfusion of blood where it’s mandatory according to our religion to save human lives at any cost. ”
Then I kept moving on by asking ” so what kind of child you were?”

“I wasn’t allowed many friends so I collected bugs from outside and kept them in my pillow at night and lay on them so I could hear what I thought was the sound of pretty voices.”
I laughed a lot with myself and I immediately returned my laugh to her ” Hahaha!! That’s beautiful! Buzz sounds “
She further kept on telling me her childhood naughty moments and said that:
“My room was full of flies and beetles and spiders in jars and my mother thought I’d been stealing fruit and my room was dirty but it was very clean. I stole all the bugs from outside and made them my friends lol”.

These funniest moments of her childhood really entertained me and off course such moments full of thrill and enjoyment are always to be cherished.
In the meantime, I also narrated my childhood story as ” I was a honey collector in my village with my brother.”

Anna was a special child who had enjoyed a basic lifestyle in a decent family environment with lofty pampering care from her grand parents.
She said “I started school 2 years earlier than all the other kids and was bullied for being small. Instead of toys I had books while learning to poop on the potty.”

“My mother was really strict with her military training.”

Now, this further enhanced my inclination to know more about her childhood. On my question that ” So this means that you were restrained from the cherished moments of early childhood?”

She immediately replied “I had no childhood at all, hence why when I left the religious life, I went crazy and made friends with very wrong types of people. I had no freedom then too much all at once.”
“Yes, that’s understandable largely because you were like ‘a prisoner free from prison”, I added with an obvious notion that usually, when we are totally locked in for quite so long and when we are set free, we wander around like ‘mad cows”. It’s similar to me and my brother as well. My parents were very strict and in school, we had strict environment as well and when we left the school, entered into the college, we were totally in an open sky and ran like we came on a marathon race.

Anna had close intimacy with her grand father and she narrates her cherished memories of childhood time with her grand father, she says: “My grandfather was my best friend until he died. Hypochondriac though, always thought he was sick even when he was fine. The one time he was sick was the day he died and no one believed him. Like the boy who cried wolf, the famous children’s story. He used to let me draw on his bald head and laugh. One time I switched the chalks for pens and it didn’t wash off for about 2 weeks!”

After her grand father’s death, there appeared a big space in her life.

She said that “When I was at my grandparents home we always looked at pictures of her friends and family, gradually as the years passed she was the only one left alive. She died at 93 years old. Right before I had my son. She never got to meet him. This is why his last name is McFadyen and not Evans. My real grandfather was Evans, by birthright. He was a horrible man who was a murderer. He shot someone in the head and then lied in court and pretended to be insane. I didn’t want my son to have his name. I am having my name changed also to my grandmothers name.”
I said ” You sound a hilarious child who faced several upheavals and also the zeal of childhood.”

Anne Text

Anna has an amazing sense of humor as what she tells that “When I first discovered alcohol at 11 years old, I gave some to my grandpa and pretended it was cough medicine to see him get drunk and have fun when my grandma was out. She got extremely mad when she came home, he had eaten a whole chicken, including the bones and then vomited in the bathroom sink.”

Leave a Reply

